EPNet Solstice Photos

I am participating in a Solstice Shoot competition held by the Equine Photographers Network.  The object is to take photos of horses on the solstice, or in this case June 20th and they’re supposed to be of the “photo journalism” type.  I went over to a friend’s house who actually owns a two year old colt bred by me!  The colts name is Emiliano Zapata or Zap for short.  His sire is my now gelding Sunnie and his dam is my grulla mare, Etta.  Out of all Sunnie’s foals, he is one that I would have kept.  He had a nice compact, well muscled, balanced body and quite a personality to go with it.

Zapata is not spooky, he loves to be into everything and can be a general nuissance.  Just the way Iike them.  Tracey is impressed because she already has a nuissance of a horse named Joe, a nice pinto who takes halters off, drags around his stall mats, plays with the hose, steals tools… Zapata does all that too.  They even undress eachother and rid their burden of a fly mask.

I call this one “Horse Clothes.”

So I had fun shooting Tracey and her colt as they messed around.  I’m helpig Tracey each week by going over and being support in their training sessions.  We worked on the fly mask thing when I was there shooting and Zapata quickly accepted it.  We did find a nasty wound on his jaw where the halter sits and had to irrigate it too.  Thankfully he has no problem with a hose.

This is the one I entered into the contest titled, “Hot Day, Cool Drink.”

So we plan on another session tomorrow and were hoping to give him his first bath.  I am not sure about that though as we’re still covered in smoke here and actually ash is falling.  Our visibility is probably a quarter of a mile or less, it’s pretty thick.

So we may just stick to the fly spray, fly mask, picking up feet, and general putzing with him just to play and make all these horse things sink in.  Tracey needs some reassurance and I need to get out and do something.  We’re having fun.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on June 26, 2008, in Horse Photography, Horses, Kiger Mustangs. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Rachelle Hobbs

    Good luck in the competition, you choose a great shot! 🙂

  2. Fun pictures! You do such nice work. I bet it was nice to see the colt you raised. Good luck in the competition!

  3. Is that handsome Zapata still a stallion? He’s really darling and I love that he has such a personality. Your pictures are obvious winners to me! Good work.

  4. Terrific photos with some humor, too. Beautiful photos are common, but not ones that show real life…dirt, soap, and goofy faces, and all.

    Good luck on thos photos and I hope the smoke goes away soon so everyone can breathe better and spend more time outside with their horses.

Leave a Reply

