Solstice Skies

We woke up to some pretty loud thunder claps o’dark early this morning.  Fell back asleep, woke up again to the noisy beasts at around six o’clock.  We had quite a light show, there were strikes all around us and passing torrential down pours, thank God because I hate thunderstorms with out any rain.  Yes, I live in California, land of the four seasons… floods, fires, earthquakes and riots.  Well actually where I live we really only get fires and earthquakes but we’re part of the grander “California” scheme, unfortunately you can’t divorce a state.  But that’s another story for another time and I’m rambling.  So, this is what the sky looked like when I stepped out.

Okay, so you very brave souls who live in the midwest, does this look ominous to you or am I a sissy?

Alright, I’m a sissy but it sure was a weird sky.  You can’t deny that and we aren’t used to all these swirly patterns and such around here.  If we get a thunderstorm it is normally black and flat, not swirls within swirls.

Of course my poor dogs were shuddering, whimpering, panting and trying to find any place where they could get out of earshot of the claps.  They hate thunderstorms or gun shots and are always tripping me up when I try to walk around. 

Abby, my real dog did pretty good until the storm moved right over head and it made our house rattle.  Then she headed for the barn and stayed there for quite some time.  I would have headed for Jamaica but couldn’t catch a flight.

See that patch of blur over there on the right?  That’s a torrential downpour right over my hubby’s shop.

Light coming through the clouds but this storm hasn’t had her last laugh.  Nope, not at all.  She kept it up until around 10:30 am and then finally let us have a bit of peace though there were some aftershocks here and there, low rumblings far away.

Hubby felt the urge to go check his shop because he owns some pretty spendy machinery and wanted to check it out.  Oh, and some spendy software on his computers such as Solidworks… yeah a CAD system that will break your bank, and mine, and my neighbors.  The above is what we found at the entrance of the Industrial Complex.

This poor tree wasthe size of it’s friendly neighbor to the right.  It was beautiful ponderosa pine and not to be gruesome or anything but lawsie did it smell good!

Here’s the split with the blackened exit wound.  This tree was completely split down the middle, the bark was peeled off of the tree and the peel was around 1.5′ wide.  Impressive is all I can say.  That was some bolt of lightning and we’re just glad it didn’t hit the shop.

Here’s the entrance with my truck there for scale.  The tree was literally blown to bits.  See those larger chunks in the ditch to the right of my truck?  They’re around a half a foot in diameter and from 6′ to 8′ in length!

This is a piece of tree skin.  It was small but it had brothers and sisters strewn from here to Kingdom Come.  That skin is so smooth too, nothing like if you did it by hand.  That lightning has a way of talking to trees.

But we survived, the shop is in one piece and our computers are okay.  We did have a couple of surge protectors that did their duty and sacrificed their souls for the computers but they lived good long lives and will be replaced with a new generation.  My horses are great, they didn’t even really react.  I couldn’t believe it.  Abby came back from the barn and our other two are back to breathing normal.  Now it’s a beautiful muggy day.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on June 21, 2008, in Family, Me, Nature, Nature Photography, News. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Oh how I love thunder storms. As a kid (born and raised in Indio Calif) I would sit on our covered porch wrapped in a blanket and just watch and listen. The storms would roll through the valley and I would have to cover my ears the thunder was so loud. Usually after one of those storms came through the road was washed out and closed due to flash flooding so I didn’t have to go to school 🙂

  2. i’m from central indiana so i’ve seen my share of storms. i have to agree – those swirling clouds are pretty freaky looking! i love thunderstorms though….always have. other than when they do damage, they are beautiful.

  3. Wow, that is quite a storm. I love thunder storms, but lightening scares me! I am surprised your horses were not upset! I love pine trees. I wish we had more of them around here.
    Glad everything in the shop was okay!!

  4. Rachelle Hobbs

    Those clouds are spooky for sure! Heard the lighting brought lots of wildfires. Hope things settle down up there soon. See you next week! 🙂

  5. I just read on the news that northern CA is experiencing lots of wildfires due to the lightning strikes – and I thought of you and your ranch! Hope all is well!

  6. When I was very little I asked my mom “Why is there thunder”? “God is telling the horses it’s going to rain and to get in the barn”, she said. “Why is there lightening”, I asked. “To give them light so they can see their way” she said. I’ve loved thunder and lightening ever since.
    Of course my next childish question was “Why aren’t the horses going into the barn?”
    But I’m with you Joan, I don’t like big bumps and swirls in my thunderheads.

  7. Excellent photos that you captured!
    Those skies remind me of the sea…except upside down…and very angry roiling about.
    I’d have been spooked, too.
    I’m glad that your horses weren’t, though. And also glad that you all and your hubbie’s shop survived unscathed.

Leave a Reply

