Equine Conformation Gurus Wanted

This is Etta.  She’s a fat Kiger mustang, a breed who is known to have low withers.  Can you tell me if she has “mutton withers,” or if she is just fat and out of shape?  I’m wondering and pondering and am hoping my horsey buddies here can help out. 

Thank you!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on May 29, 2008, in Horses, Kiger Mustangs. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. She appears to from these pictures. Since mutton withers are actually short spines the easiest way to tell is by taking a picture from the tail end, looking up towards the withers. That way you have a clear look at the boney conformation.

    Found you from MidWestHorse by the way!

Leave a Reply

