My First Kiger Baby

Like I mentioned the other day my snooty, full of fire, excitable, super smart, agile, loving, pissy little girl, Annie Oakley was the first born on the ranch.  The girl has got heirs, I know, but really she is the Princess of the ranch.

So I was digging through some old photos looking intentionally for Annie Oakley’s newborn baby pictures.  I did find them and wanted to share.

The only thing I wish for would be that the photo quality would be better.  I had an old film point and shoot at the time, my photography juices were flowing a little bit but weren’t full force like they are now.  I surely didn’t know how to do a good photo (by my standards) but am grateful that I have these nonetheless.

I had been waiting for Annie’s mama, Belle, to give birth the past few nights in June of 2002.  I knew it was coming soon and had my round corral set up, clean with fresh grass, and reserved for the time that I’d stick Belle in there.  I thought I would be home, I thought I would be there. 

But like a good horsey mama, Belle had different plans.  After waiting the week, it was time for me to head off to work as I only worked three days a week and two of those days were just five hour afternoons.  No biggie, she wouldn’t have her foal while I was gone!

I dutifully checked on Belle before leaving, and nothing looked imminent.  I wondered what she was doing while I was working and was relieved when it was time to head home, of course I wound up staying a bit late so didn’t head out until around 3:00 pm.  It used to take me twenty minutes to get home and while I rounded the turn to come into our driveway, I wondered about that baby as she was first on my mind for the past few months. 

Sure enough, as I rounded the corner there was Belle with a little foal by her side.  I was so excited my heart lept for joy and if I wasn’t in my truck I would have jumped up and down.  I was more than excited, I had wanted a foal of my own for as long as I could remember and the day had finally come. 

Before this little one arrived, I told my hubby that if it was a grulla filly we were keeping her.  Sure enough, that’s what this babe was and that’s what I did.  I knew right away that she was a grulla with that unmistakable silver sheen to her legs and muzzle and the dark barring on her legs.  My dream had come true and as excited as I was I named her after one of my heros, Annie Oakley.  What a fitting name too for my 14 hand beauty.  If she could shoot a rifle, she’d be a sharp shot.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on May 27, 2008, in Horses, Kiger Mustangs, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Oh Geeze, She does look the part of a Princess, A Royal Princess!

  2. She is beautiful, that Annie! Thanks for sharing the baby pictures, they are always so precious. I wish they would stay that way, kind of. 😉

  3. Such a darling baby, and she grew up to be such a beautiful mare. I do love those grullas.

  4. Rachelle Hobbs

    What sweet pictures! Annie has grown into a beautiful horse. I am in love with those grullas, such a beautiful color. I can’t wait to get one of my own someday. 🙂

  5. Oh, it is so nice when wishes come true! Love the story, love the photos! Annie is absolutely beautiful. Wonderful photo of the two of you. Say’s everything.

  6. She’s a real beauty!

  7. That last pic is the absolute best. That’s pure happiness right there 🙂

Leave a Reply

