Favorites Wednesday — Bully Choop

While I was out with the lupine the other day, this was another view I came across that caught my eye.  Our local lake with the mountain in the background, Bully Choop, which means “bald face.”  I always thought it would be fun to name a bald faced gelding, Bully Choop.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on May 21, 2008, in Favorites Wednesday, Nature, Nature Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That is a gorgeous photo! I love it when lakes look like glass like that. My aunt had a cabin on a lake when I was a child and I remember waking up early in the morning and looking out, seeing a perfect reflection of the mountains and trees in the lake.

  2. Very nice photo……….Such pretty scenery!

  3. Rachelle Hobbs

    Great shot! I love that spot. 🙂

  4. You really ought to sell your picture artistry!

  5. I thought you might be interested to know that my Uncle Frank Griswold (who herded Angora goats in these mountains many, many years ago told me that when he was a little boy (he was born in 1912) his family befriended an old Modoc Indian who taught him the Indian names for several of the local mountains. He said Yolla Bolly meant “snow on the Mountain. And Bully Choop meant “Sharp Point” -or- “Sharp Peak”—which seems to fit its description better that “Bald Face.” I don’t know how you would research this, but thought I’d share it for what it was worth.

    We hope to visit that area this summer as a family group reunion.

    Betty

Leave a Reply

