Lupine

Okay, I’ll admit, I’m a bit nutty about Lupine.  They are just about the most gorgeous flower and we grow them around here in the wild in all different types. 

I found this lovely patch of them near our local lake as I was driving around trying to get my baby to sleep and at the same time, looking for something to shoot.  I lucked out when I saw this… Actually, I don’t believe it was luck.  God sure has a way of sending you little and big blessings each day, and I believe this was a blessing.

The lighting at the moment was amazing as it filtered through the trees.  I couldn’t have been happier for the nap time that my baby was demanding and for the sleep that she fell in while I came upon these flowers.

When I was about to turn thirteen, my name sake also my Great Aunt, had planned a really neat birthday surprise for me, a flight back East to Virginia where she lives and then we were to travel down to North Carolina where we would spend the week in a beach house.

This would be the first long flight I would take by myself and the first time I’d be that far from home.

My Mom told me, before I left, that God will give me tiny blessings each day to remember Him and that I better make sure to have my eyes open and ready to see what He had planned.

It could be a Cardinal bird sighting…

Or a small flower.

Be sure you keep your eyes watchful for what God wants to show you.  There are tiny blessings everywhere, and I believe I came across a big one today.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on May 19, 2008, in Me, Nature, Nature Photography, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Very pretty indeed. We also have a lot of Lupine growing wild here in Washington State but ours are not blooming yet. We also have dogwood, rhododendrun, big leaf maples and lots of wild berries. It looks like you have a beautiful place to raise your baby girl with God and nature. I wish all children could have the chance to be surrounded by and appreciate the beauty of plants and animals.

  2. Beautiful shots. Thanks for sharing them!

  3. Very Pretty flowers and great photos. Thank-you for sharing the lovely story that goes with the flowers!

  4. Beautiful flowers and what a wonderful message to go with them! That was my bit of inspiration for today, thanks!

    By the way, I just left an award for you over at Strawberry Lane. Please check it out, you sure deserve it.

  5. Very pretty pictures, I love wildflowers.

  6. You captured some wonderful shots! That lighting is amazing. We’ve got lupine blooming like crazy here in Indiana right now too. Thanks for sharing your photos and the sweet story too!

  7. I certainly hope you have “The Lupine Lady” for your daughter! It has always been one of our favorite books. If you can’t find it, email me and I’ll send you the ISBN. Also, look for “My Great Aunt Arizona” and “Corgiville Fair”…oh, and “10 Minutes Till Bedtime”.

  1. Pingback: The Process of Lambing; Courtesy of Lilly « Mud Ranch’s Real Dirt

Leave a Reply

