All is Quiet on the Hereford Front

I forgot to post this picture a while back, I’ve gotten so busy and distracted with so many others as I try to get out and take a few pictures each day.  But this one, this one is special and needs to be shown.  Here is my little cowgirl riding Mattilda before she had her calf, “Sir Loin.” 

Is it just me, or do we have the sweetest cows around?  Mattilda is my favorite, mainly because she lets me pet her and tolerates having her picture taken with my little girl (her little girl too).  Mattilda is an enormous cow, probably weighing around 1200 lbs.  She’s as mellow as they come though and shares her calf with us, entertains my baby, and keeps all of us wow’ed by her sweetness.

Just look at those sweet eyes, whistle while you work is her motto.

And here’s her son, Sir Loin, thanks to Molly he has a name!  What a great name at that… a perfect fit.

He’s a beautiful calf, much like his sister a year older.  Her name is Jessica and she’ll be bred this summer so that she can have a calf of her own next year.  She’s a bit on the “froggy” side but I’m sure will calm with mother-hood… I did.

And here’s a size comparison of Mattilda and my friend Dixie.  Dixie is about 5’5.” 

So all is well on the Hereford front.  Our cows are doing well but poor Twinkie is about to burst.  I wish she would… She’s the final one.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on May 13, 2008, in Family, Hereford Cattle, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh What a sweetie! Oh NO!!!!! Sir Loin?????????????

  2. “Sir Loin.”

    That’s hilarious.

    Great photos!

    Blessings,
    Linda
    The Mane Point – a Haven for Horse Lovers

    THE MANE POINT – a haven for horse lovers

  3. Sir Loin….That’s hysterical! He’s a cutie though!

Leave a Reply

