Bird Watch

Since spring has sprung, we’ve got a bunch of birds visiting the canopy of oak trees around our house.  Annie has been having quite a teething episode and isn’t feeling too good so I thought it would be nice for us to go sit out in the clover and watch the life in the trees above.  Granted, I’m the one who did the bird watching while she chewed on her toys that we pulled out of the fridge.  The first visitor was Mr. Goldfinch, I can’t exactly tell him apart from his brothers but they are gorgeous and love the dandelions in our yard. 

The next was Mr. and Mrs. Bluebird who are building a nest in a house we hung this past fall.  Mrs. Bluebird was the only one who really stuck around and was available for a photo shoot.  I think Mister was too busy gathering and eating.

And the below picture is about as close as I got to getting a picture of an Oriole.  I did hang their feeder though, and am planning on “taming” them enough to get some pictures to share.  They tend to be a bit snooty and stay high in the canopy chattering away.

And then I had to take a picture of spring springing, with our oaks just now starting to pop.  But when I downloaded them on to my computer and was looking at them sharper, I noticed a little guy in the left hand of the photo whom I did not notice while I took the picture.  Lucky, I guess.

Next on my list of birds: The Chat.  He can be pretty hard as they tend to be a bit flighty, but they are gorgeous yellow birds with a beautiful song.  If only I could take a picture of a song to share.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on May 10, 2008, in Nature, Nature Photography, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. We have one pair of Orioles that show up every year. I have yet to figure out where their nest is. Love the birds.

  2. Thank for sharing and you captured some nice photos of these Beautiful birds.

Leave a Reply

