Meet Stew

…He was born yesterday, April 26 at 12:30pm. 

Stew

This is the first time that we’ve had a calf born to us, and boy was it a lot of work!  We watched his mama in anticipation as she paced the pasture and looked for a nice, quiet, shady area to give birth to this humongous beast she had been carrying for the past nine months… I know the feeling.

If you cannot handle birth stories and seeing pictures of birthing, I advise you to stop reading and go to a different blog.  We’re gonna get graphic and I don’t want to upset any stomachs.

Pushin'

I was watching her while she turned in circles under some oaks, and noticed her friends grazing as they wandered by, completely unconcerned for their sister in bovine-dom.  She struggled a little with the head and we noticed that the sack was not breaking on it’s own.  So my hubby decided to intervene for the little guy and give him a breather.

Helpin'

By this time, “Layla” was very happy to have some help.  And while my hubby and a friend (Dixie’s hubby) were working on the barn, it was good to have two men around to help pull that baby out.  They just gave some traction while Layla pushed, and that little guy came sliding out.

An Entrance

Layla let both hubbies doctor the umbellical cord and check him out with out a problem and then decided she’d better get up and get moo-ving because that guy needed a bath pronto.

Cleaning

A woman’s work is never done.

Then they decided that it would be good to take a nap in the warm spring air and enjoy eachother’s company a while.  Layla has proved to be a good mama.

Nap Time

And once he got clean enough, this mama thought it’d be safe to introduce the two babies.  I think they instantly took to eachother.

Annie & Stew

But don’t get too attached, there’s a reason his name is Stew.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on April 27, 2008, in Family, Hereford Cattle, News. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. That is such a great set of pix. I live in a rural area but mostly only get to see lambs born. The calves seem to arrive by magic standing on their feet a day later!

  2. Those are amazing pictures. That mama cow looked very grateful for your help. Why are baby animals always so darn cute when they are little?? I guess if this calf stayed this way, it’d never become stew! 🙂

  3. OH how darling, I couldn’t eat him, having already seen his face. When I soold a saddle last October, I brought it to the lady and tried it on her her horse for her and the horse with four young steers and they were so friendly. They kept poking me when I was saddling the mare. Their names were Steak, Hamburger, Charlie and Ted. Stephen and I almost went out and bought one for a pet. We decided if we were to get one, his name would be Walter. I want a Walter. Then we came to our senses.

  4. Great pictures! Stewie looks like his Mama.

  5. Great pictures! He is so cute 🙂 What a good mama cow you have! My brother has told me some horror stories from working on a cattle ranch in eastern Oregon – first time mama cows running through the pasture with a calf half way out. Luckily you guys were there to give her a helping hand.

  6. Those really are interesting pictures. Did the hubbies know what to do or were they using skills for delivering baby sheep and horses? Both the human and bovine babies are gorgeous. I have to add that I took a second glance at the title “Meet Stew” and wondered about the double entendre.

  7. Those really are interesting pictures. Did the hubbies know what to do or were they using skills for delivering baby sheep and horses? Both the human and bovine babies are gorgeous. I have to add that I took a second glance at the title “Meet Stew” and wondered about the double entendre.

  8. Cute pictures Joan! Annie is getting so big and beautiful, amazing how that happens. Its always surprising to me at how white the new calfs’ heads are. Looks like he just stepped out of the laundry basket. You may have some trouble with Stew getting onto the table with such a tender heart in love with him.

  9. Grandma & Grandpa Cookie

    That’s my grand-daughter. A cattle baroness already.

Leave a Reply

