Impressive!

Stella & Lou Ellen

Stella & Lou Ellen, twins from last year 

I am impressed by all the wonderful feedback I’ve had on my blue eyed beauties!  Thank you all so much for the name suggestions.  I am going to narrow it down and announce their names hopefully tomorrow.  I’ve also got some pictures of our “dudes” who create these gorgeous kids.  But, for now I wanted to answer a couple of questions that you’ve asked and maybe I can give some insight.

 As far as the lilac coloring, I’m not sure how it works.  I don’t believe it is like the grulla coloring in horses where the dun gene actually makes a black horse diluted to the mousey gray coloring.  It would be interesting to see how the lilac color works though and hopefully some of our more expert jacob sheep people can lend their knowledge on the subject.  I do know that there are different shades but am not sure why or how they become that color.

The other question is if the sheep have twins of the same sex.  No, they don’t we are just blessed enough to have a lot of ewe lambs this year (although we’re getting a bit worried that there won’t be enough to butcher as we like to keep ewes for breeding if they’re of quality).  For example, Bernie and Jonquil are twins and we have Rudy and Trudy who are twins.  We have many many pairs who are not of the same sex, probably just like twins in humans.  You never know what you’re going to get, although twins in sheep are very common.  We’re wondering if we’re going to get triplets someday as our ram, Debonaire, is a triplet with two ewe lambs. 

Anyway, thank you all again and I will announce names tomorrow!

Happy Saint Patty’s Day!

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on March 17, 2008, in Jacob Sheep. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. They are so cute , it is hard for callie and I to resist getting just a couple of Lambs and a Pig and some Chicks and I have always wanted a Peacock , but as you know our house is quite nutty without any more how ever cute they are I WILL STAY STRONG

    hehehe

    Steve

  2. J~ I know someone up here looking for a four horned ram. Would you happen to have one? Or know of someone up this way who’s raising them?

    Good luck with the names!

Leave a Reply

