Mi Amiga y Mestenos

web-dsc_0064.jpg

Okay, so I’ve been under the Mexican influence the past few days.  My husband has some customers visiting and learning at our shop, one being from Monterrey, Mexico and one from Mexico City.  I’ve been practicing my spanish and they’ve been practicing their ingles… err… english.  But that’s not what I wanted to talk about.  I wanted to introduce everyone to mi amiga, Dixie, and her mestenos or mustangs.  She’s down there on the left in my blogroll and she has started a blog about her mustangs that she trains.  Her newest accomplishment is being accepted as one of the competitors for the Western States version of the Extreme Mustang Makeover.  She’ll be competing with about 35 other contestants in June. 

Dixie’s newest mustang is a three year old mare from the Fox Hog herd management area here in Northern California.  She has the typical thoroughbred / draft cross looks from that particular herd but has such a sweet disposition.  She truly is incredible and I am amazed how Dixie always either lucks out or is blessed enough to get mustangs like “Bertie.”  Her mustang “Otter” whom she brought home from the Extreme Mustang Makeover last September, which was held in Texas, has the same laid back personality.  She also has a beautiful little palomino filly who is the same… How does Dixie do it?!  I am not really sure, but she is a lucky lady and I am lucky enough to be able to photograph her undertakings.  The above picture is one I got from this past Tuesday, Bertie has already accepted the tarp.

So go stop by and root for Dixie at Dixie’s Mustangs.  And go root for Tracey too at Mustang Diaries, these girls need lots of encouragement and support.  They’re doing a wonderful thing for our national treasures, the mustang.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on March 13, 2008, in Horse Photography, Horses, Mustangs, News. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m just astounded at how laid back that girl is! Sandy’d be sitting on my shoulders screaming like a girl, lol!

  2. dixiesmustangs

    Thanks for the kind words and always being there for encouragement it means a lot to me:)
    You are right Bertie is very special she is truly a Dream. To day I even Saddled her up and she was perfect. I fill I am very lucky to have got this mare.

  3. Wow, that horse has a kind eye. She looks well relaxed.

Leave a Reply

