Saber

Saber, Michelle & Spencer

Saber is a wonderful little arabian gelding, one that I used to own and sold to the girl in the above picture, Michelle.  Michelle is the daughter of some very very good friends of the family.  Her mom has known me before I was born and her grandparents were my godparents.  I was not wanting to sell Saber but Michelle’s family was looking for a good horse and I knew that Saber would be excellent for her and teach her a lot as she grew and learned. 

Michelle did some NATRC (North American Trail Ride Conference) trail rides on Saber, and they actually did very well! 

I think he was around sixteen years old in these photos and that was a couple of years ago.  Michelle was around fourteen or so, and they got along great.  Michelle has since grown a lot taller, Saber is still his shorter 14.2hh, 800lbs., and is living about an hour away from me for the winter instead of in Southern California where Michelle lives.  He is in the stages of retirement, Michelle’s legs have just about out-grown Saber but her heart hasn’t.  She is boarding him up here because she didn’t want to see him in a stall all winter and she believes it is better for his health to be up here where the air is clean and crisp, and he can stretch his legs when he feels like it. 

Saber is a dear soul, a level headed gelding with a lot of heart and love.  He gave me many fun years of going down the trail, and he gave Michelle a few more.  I just wanted to post about an equine soul whom I will not take for granted and one whom I want to show to the world as another excellent horse and friend.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on February 29, 2008, in Family, Horses, Me. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Gosh, Gorgeous horse with such a kind eye……..Very generous and thoughtful of you to sell her to someone who obviously loves her even though it must have been difficult for you to let her go.

Leave a Reply

