Old Photos Tag

Annie Oakley

My hero… Annie Oakley 

A while ago now, Strawberry Lane tagged me with an “Old Photos Tag,” where I am supposed to post old photos of your truly.  I’ve been a bad poster lately and have just now gotten around to doing this!  Sorry Strawberry Lane!

Papoose & I

This photo is of my first horse show.  I was around nine years old and on my favorite Spanish Mustang, Papoose.  Papoose was raised on the Yuma Indian Reservation in Arizona and was a fire ball of a horse.  She was wonderful and every time I think of her, to this day, a little tear comes to my eyes.  Papoose lived to be 42 years old, taught me everything; and by the way, we got first place in the walk / trot!  She was put to sleep November 1994 after a stroke that left her hind end paralyzed.

Papoose

Here we are again, 4th of July parade!

Tink & I

Here I am, probably five years ago now.  This is “Tink” or registered name Belle Starr.  She was the easiest horse for me to train, thus far.  So mellow, easy going, lovely personality… I regret selling her only for selfish reasons.  She went to a wonderful home in Arizona where she is spoiled and treasured.  I miss her and sometimes hear updates about her.  She is a lovely lady, and a lady is the best way to describe her.

I shall now tag these lucky folks:

Molly at HolaMole, Sarah at Scary’sWest, and Townie!  Ahem… Tracey?  You were tagged the same time as me… get to work. 😉

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on February 19, 2008, in Horses, Me, Tag. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow, Nice old photos……..and interesting stories.

  2. Uh oh. I’ll see what I can find here.

  3. Thanks for playing along!! Love the photographs and the wonderful stories.

    Just amazing that Papoose lived to be 42! And aren’t you cute in the 4th of July Parade with your sandals on!

    Tink looks like a sweetheart. Gentle face!

  4. Um…yeah…I know, I know…

Leave a Reply

