Favorites Wednesday — Aaaahhh, Spring.

Wilson Ranch House

My neighbor’s house… with a little of my pasture in front of it, but they make a great combonation.  This house is the original ranch house for our property, their property and the land that goes down in to town that has been subdivided.  The original ranch being named ‘Mud Ranch.’  We bought the last remaining property from the actual family (the last piece they let go of) once one of the brothers died of old age and his wife couldn’t keep up ours and hers located in Oregon. 

I shall not covet, but that house is gorgeous.  They recently re-did it, moved it back off the road by a few feet, re-did the floors to inlaid pine with walnut patterns, vintage style wall paper, marble entry way with a sun room… it’s incredible the work they put in to it.  I am thankful that this 1800’s beauty has been restored.  It was originally a stage stop for the main stage coming from our big city an hour away by car.  By stage coach, probably around 14 hours.  So it is located on the main road coming into town, and I mean before they moved it back, that thing was right on the road.  That’s one thing I am not envious of, our house is hidden from the road, and that’s the way I like it. 

Our neighbors couldn’t be better though.  They love to see our animals out their front windows, they’ve let us fence off part of their land for more pasture… free pasture, and they’re very handy with construction tools and cooking!  What more could you want in a neighbor?  No, really they’re awesome and we are blessed to be their friends.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on January 30, 2008, in Favorites Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Pretty, It hardly looks 1800’s…….Our home is a converted barn from 1800’s and it hardly looks 1800’s either. Nice view!

  1. Pingback: Quiet and Still « Mud Ranch’s Real Dirt

Leave a Reply

