The Kigers — My thoughts in a nut shell.

My Herd 2006

I am working on a few new pages that will be listed on the top.  The newest, “Our Horses,” is up for viewing now.  I just wanted to have a sort of home base for general information on my beauties and will be making another page for my sheep and for my cattle.  Be watching for those. 

But, I had started out with an explanation of the Kiger breed before the descriptions of my horses and then realized it would not be so fun to read each and every time you went on there to see whom I was talking about in my posts.  So… I’ll leave it basic.  I hope it works.

Anyway, on to my Kigers.  They’re a breed that was discovered in south eastern Oregon back in ’77.  A gentleman known as E. Ron Harding noticed the similarity in which these horses were built and the coloring was the primitive “dun factor.”  The dun factor basicly turns a black horse into a grulla, a chestnut/sorrel in to a red dun, a bay horse in to a coyote / zebra dun (or various other terms).  So he decided that these horses (originally found on the Beattye’s Butte herd management area) should be split in to two so that in case of natural catastrophe; the whole herd wouldn’t be wiped out.  So, they moved 7 horses to the Riddle Mountain HMA and 20 to the Kiger HMA where they are currently found today.

Over the years, the horses have been touted as an all around excellent mount with lots of character, uniquely smart, gorgeous, and of course one of the last remaining “pure” herds of Spanish Mustangs managed by the BLM (bureau of land management).  They took off in popularity and were found to be quite the novelty for people to own.  I know many people might take offense to me saying they were a novelty, but that is what they are.  The only reason I believe that is because their prices have dropped significantly, the buzz has worn off a bit, and people are moving on to other novelty breeds.  I will assure you though, that I am a Kiger lover through and through.  I adore my horses and my interest is always peaked when I see a horse that looks similar and I keep up with the action on the web about my favorite breed.  They are quite something to behold, unfortunately the people involved with the breed have done a doosey and driven their reputation down.  I am saddened by the effect I have seen on the in-fighting between registries and between fellow Kiger enthusiasts on who’s horse is better, what color is better, and what lineage is better.  There are still those folks out there who are promoting the Kigers for what they are, beautiful mounts with a lot of all-around potential.  A good handful of these people are extremely talented and and are showing just how versatile the Kigers are and can be in the right hands.  There are others, like myself, who are enjoying them as backyard horses to go down the trail and participate in a local event of some sort when we feel the urge to get out and about.  I admit, I am not a showman and never will be.  It just doesn’t appeal to me.  But, I do enjoy seeing a lovely horse, trained expertly and doing what it and it’s owner loves.  It is a joy to watch and I’m always in aww about what they can accomplish as a team.  The Kigers never cease to amaze me with their heart, drive, character, and grace.  They have my heart.

I have recently decided, during my pregnancy with our first child, that I would not have the time I once did to devote toward my little breeding program I had started.  I would not be able to work with the foals we were having and would be preoccupied with baby things other than horsey things.  It was a sad decision, but I decided to geld my stallion and sell off some horses.  Thankfully, I found some awesome homes for my beloved babies and do keep in contact with some still.  I am grateful to know what they are up to.  I am currently down from twelve to five and hope to get down to four or three in the near future.  While the birth of my own baby has made me decide to sell off my Kigers, I look back and am thankful I did.  I would not want to be a breeder in todays market…

To be continued. 

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on January 10, 2008, in Horses, Kiger Mustangs. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I didn’t realize the Kigers were originally found in Oregon – learn something new every day! I love your ‘Our Horses’ page, I’m looking forward to seeing your other pages! You are very fortunate to have sold your horses when you did!

  2. Am I correct that is Belle in front of you in the caption?

  3. Hi Lana, actually that is Mattie in my “banner.” She does look like Belle though, same color anyway. And… same gentle curiosity. 😉
    Thanks for visiting! I’m glad you’re a regular. More tomorrow… too busy to post this weekend.

  4. Love that photo! So nice to hear a sensible Kiger voice… I hope someday they’ll be able to sort things out, but for now everyone seems so bent on arguing and breeding (because Lord knows we need more ‘nice’ horses…) that the value of the breed, as you noted, has been driven down.

Leave a Reply

