Unexpected Visitors

I didn’t have to dust, vacuum, or do the dishes; my unexpected visitors this afternoon weren’t the picky kind.  They didn’t expect me to take time out of my day to show them around or cook up a good meal (ha!), they just flew in and took a rest eating up what was left of the hay we fed this morning.

Flock of Geese

They were jabbering on about things geese discuss while I shot some photos. 

Mingling

They meddled in eachother’s affairs and gossiped a bit.  They knew I didn’t know their language so it didn’t bother them to do that sort of thing in front of me.

The Couple

Amongst all the noise, there was this sweet couple.  They walked and talked with eachother for a while.  He was truly concerned about what she had to say and you could tell there was some true love between them.  Geese can be like that you know, especially when they’ve been “married” for a while.

Where's Miss Talouse?

But amid all the commotion of normal goose-dom, there was this little lady in the mix.  I couldn’t believe what I was seeing at first and then the nice geese parted so that I could see center stage, the beauty that was amongst them.

Dancer

She noticed me watching so put on a little show.

Stretching

She twirreled and stretched and showed off her bright colors amidst all the brown, black and white.

Lady Goose

She was a pretty site although the rest of the geese thought her colors were a bit audacious.

Grooming

But she didn’t have any problem with her self esteem and knew that she’d win them over if they’d just get to know her. 

Resting

You see, she was slight of build, not loud or intruding.  She was simply enjoying the company of other geese, regardless of their backgrounds.

Lone Goose

Maybe one day this handsome gander will see things her way.

 Edited to add my find on the Greylag Goose.

About mudranch

I live in the country, I love to take photos, I'm a shepherdess, I adore my husband and daughter, I walk in the will of Christ.

Posted on January 5, 2008, in Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Love the pictures of the geese, and a lovely surprise visit too 🙂

    The little lady with the fab colours is a Greylag Goose.. we get loads of them migrating here for the winter and at our local park there are a gang of them that just reside there all year round

    Great photo’s 🙂

  2. Soooo she’s maybe not a toulouse? We thought that maybe she was a domestic that just learned to fly since she is obviously gifted. If she’s from Europe no wonder she was showing off. Did anyone with “National Security” check her passport? She is not in our bird book for Western Birds.

  3. Thanks for the bit of info Townie. That’s quite a travel for such a little lady… I’ll have to google her to see what I can come up with.

    Next time she comes around, I’ll check her I.D. and see if she has a green card and if she’s wanted with national security. 😀

Leave a Reply

